The Northeastern Educational Research Association (NERA) extends a call for teacher-researchers to present their work at the 49th Annual Conference in October 2018. We encourage teachers, professional learning teams, coaches, school administrators, and other stakeholders to submit a proposal. Proposals can focus on completed research projects or works in progress. [See call for proposals for more information.] Consider submitting proposals based on students’ learning goals, growth targets, and teacher artifacts that show evidence of practice. Other hot topics include:

  • Culturally responsive pedagogy
  • Supporting diverse learners
  • Project-based learning
  • Inclusive classrooms
  • Co-teaching/collaborative teaching
  • Common Core State Standards
  • Differentiated instruction
  • Literacy across the curriculum
  • Technology integration
  • Assessment
  • Interdisciplinary planning and teaching
  • Building classroom community
  • Home-school nexus
  • Reading intervention and remediation
  • Multi-purpose writing
  • Teacher evaluation
  • Coaching 

This conference is an ideal forum for teachers enrolled in graduate programs to disseminate their research. Teacher-researchers should also apply for the Teacher-as-Researcher (TAR) Award. The TAR recipient is a teacher (P-12; i.e., preschool through high school) who has conducted classroom research to modify and improve his or her teaching efforts and instructional effectiveness. The purpose of the award is to encourage teachers to conduct research and to use the findings of that research to inform their own teaching. Applications are due June 30, 2018.

All attendees must register for the conference. Check the NERA website in May for information about how to register. Professional development credits for conference attendance are available. Please feel free to contact Dr. Tina Tsiokris at with any questions.


The Thomas F. Donlon Memorial Award for Distinguished Mentoring was established in 2000 in recognition of Tom’s long and valued contributions to NERA, particularly as a mentor to so many colleagues. Since then the award has been presented annually to NERA members who have demonstrated distinction as mentors of colleagues by guiding them and helping them find productive paths toward developing their careers as educational researchers.

The practice of mentoring in education has been going on for centuries and most of us can name a person who helped us move our careers along by being more than just a friend or colleague. That person may have been an advisor in developing your research agenda or perhaps brought you to NERA for the first time after suggesting that you might be ready for a conference presentation.

Nominations are again being sought for this annual award. Nominees must be NERA members and may be nominated by any member(s) of NERA to whom they served as mentors. If you would like to see a member of NERA who was your mentor be recognized for his/her contributions to your success, send your nomination to Marcia Delcourt via email at by June 30, 2019. In addition to the nomination letter, all nominations must be accompanied by at least three letters of support indicating the ways in which the nominee distinguished her/himself as a mentor. Up to five separate letters of support can be sent for each nominee. The award will be presented at the 2019 NERA conference. Please contact Marcy if you have any questions about the Donlon Award or the nomination process.  Information about the 2018 awardee is located at


The Leo D. Doherty Memorial Award is given to a longstanding NERA member who exemplifies the qualities that Leo Doherty brought to NERA members, his colleagues, and students over his career. The award, instituted by the NERA Board of Directors in 1981, honors the memory of Leo Doherty. He was instrumental in the development and growth of NERA as a professional association for educational research.
His leadership qualities, which were both ethical and humane, encouraged others to pursue and achieve their goals. Thus, this award is presented to NERA members who have exhibited outstanding leadership and service to our organization. The Leo D. Doherty Award Committee for 2018 strongly encourage nominations for this award.
Nomination letters should be sent as an email attachment to Elizabeth (Liz) Stone at no later than June 30, 2018. Nomination letters should explicitly name the nominee and offer a concise and compelling case for the candidate in terms of their leadership and service to NERA. Inquiries regarding this award may also be sent to Liz.


Are you interested in attending AERA in 2019 with a $500 stipend? If you are presenting a paper at the upcoming NERA conference, consider submitting the paper from one of your presentations to be considered for NERA’s “Best Paper” award – the Lorne H. Woollatt Award.
This award is named in honor of Lorne H. Woollatt, a distinguished New York state educator who published The Evolution of State-local Governmental Relationships in New York State in 1948 and was an active member of NERA. Each year, the award is given to one of the papers presented at the NERA conference. The authors of the award-winning paper receive a $500 stipend to present their work at the next American Educational Research Association conference during one of the Distinguished Paper sessions of the Consortium of State and Regional Educational Research Associations.
The recipient of the award is chosen by a committee of NERA members who review the papers that were entered into the competition. Each submitted paper is scored by award committee members on the importance of the topic and need for the study; the quality of the research design, data analysis, results reporting, and conclusions; and the contribution the research findings make to the knowledge-base of the field. To be considered for the award, a paper must meet the eligibility criteria of being a 15-20 page report of educational research that was presented at the NERA conference.
The Lorne H. Woollatt Distinguished Paper Award Committee invites presenters at the 2018 NERA conference to enter their research papers into the competition by sending an email to Abby (Lau) Cahill at no later than November 15, 2018. In the email, please indicate the 2018 NERA conference session number, date, and time during which the paper was presented, and attach two copies of the paper. One copy should include the names, affiliations, and email addresses of each author on the title page, and one copy should not include any author information on the title page. Any questions about the award can be directed to Abby as the current chair of committee.
The committee looks forward to recognizing last year’s winner, Maria Y. Finger-Elam, who co-authored the paper entitled, Efficacy of Blended-Learning Model Literacy Intervention for Struggling Adolescent Readers. More information about her 2017 NERA paper can be found on the NERA website awards page:

© 2019 Northeastern Educational Research Association, Inc. All Rights Reserved