2018 Leo D. Doherty Memorial Award
for Outstanding Leadership and Service

     The Leo D. Doherty Memorial Award is presented to a longstanding NERA member who “has generously given of self to NERA, to advance its mission and to enable it to thrive.” The award, instituted by the NERA Board of Directors in 1981, honors the memory of Leo D. Doherty who was instrumental in the development and growth of NERA as a professional association for educational research. His leadership qualities, both ethical and compassionate, encouraged others to pursue and achieve their goals. Thus, this award, now given annually, is presented to a NERA member who has shown outstanding leadership and service to our organization. The recipient of the 2018 NERA Leo D. Doherty Memorial Award for Out-standing Leadership and Service is Steven Holtzman. In reflecting on the spirit of the Doherty Award, I am particularly moved by the fol-lowing statement: “…a nominee must be a member of long standing who has generously given of self to NERA, to advance its mission and to enable it to thrive.” With that in mind, Steven Holtzman is NERA. For those of us who have had the extraordinary good fortune to have worked with Steven as he has progressed through various leadership positions within NERA, the extent to which he has committed himself to improving NERA operations and functions in every aspect of his service is far-reaching and has served to strengthen NERA as an organization and as a community.

    Steven has been attending NERA for almost 10 years, and today’s NERA would not be nearly the organization is it without his contributions to our member services and functionality. My first real opportunity to work with Ste-ven came when I was on the Board and he was the chair of the Communications Committee, and he was integral in collaborating with other committee members to professionalize our communications activities (email, web, and social media). His Communications Committee work led to his eventual role as the chair of the Infrastructure Committee, and it was there that I came to fully rely on Steven during my term as President, for his careful nature and eagerness to research new initiatives. He was very active in proposing infrastructure-related activities and identifying the pros and cons of different courses of action, to fully explore the benefits and potential consequences for members. To this day, I still appreciate the extent to which Steven put member needs and considerations first in laying out a path forward for NERA with respect to a wide range of issues such as defining the membership year for purposes of membership renewals.

    Steven has also spent a year as Webmaster and was Presidential Advisor for Special Projects in 2014. In that Advisory capacity, among many other tasks as right-hand person to the then-NERA President, Steven was instrumental in bringing a vision of a NERA Webinar Series to fruition, to add year-round value to membership in NERA. He has further served as NERA Program CoChair for the 2013 conference, and most recently has been Treasurer. Steven is diligent, detail-oriented, and thoughtful, and NERA is better for his service and leadership. He is an exceptional volunteer and undoubtedly most deserving of the Leo D. Doherty Memorial Award for service to NERA.

--Submitted by April Zenisky, on behalf of the 2018 Doherty Award Committee (Elizabeth Stone, Barbara Helms, David Moss, Stephen G. Sireci, and April Zenisky)

Click here to read the Call for Nominations for the Leo D. Doherty Memorial Award

Previous Award Recipients:
2019No Award Given
2018Steven Holtzman
Educational Testing Service
2017April Zenisky
University of Massachusetts Amherst
2016Elizabeth Stone
Educational Testing Service
2015Helen Marx
Southern Connecticut State University
2014Stephen G. Sireci
University of Massachusetts Amherst
2013Kristen Huff
Regents Research Fund
2012No Award Given
2011David Moss
University of Connecticut
2010Darlene Perner
Bloomsburg University of Pennsylvania
2009Gavrielle Levine
Long Island University / C. W. Post
2008Sharon F. Cramer
Buffalo State College, State University of New York
2007Diane E. Liebert
DLE Associates
2006Richard Schwab
University of Connecticut
2005Dianne Zager
Pace University
2004Jim Fleming
University of Albany, SUNY
 Fran Archambault
University of Connecticut (retired)
2003Janet Carlson
Texas A & M University at Galveston
2002Barbara J. Helms
Community Training & Assistance Center
2001Scott W. Brown
University of Connecticut
2000Judith Robb
University of New Hampshire
1999Thomas Shuell
University at Buffalo, SUNY
1998Cheryl Gowie
Siena College
1997Kurt Geisinger
LeMoyne University
1996Liora Pedhazur Schmelkin
Hofstra University
1995Philip Archer
Nassau County NY BOCES
1994Robert McMorris
State University of New York at Albany
1993David L. Passmore
Pennsylvania State University
1992Douglas A. Penfield
Rutgers University
1991Janice Gibson
University of Pittsburgh
1990Laura Harckham
Congers, NY
1989Mary Horan
New York State Education Department
1988Edward F. Iwanicki
University of Connecticut
1987Reuben Rusch
State University of New York at Albany
1986No Award Given
1985Richard L. Egelston
New York State Education Department
1984Mauritz Johnson
State University of New York at Albany, retired
1983Robert K. Gable
University of Connecticut
1982Richard M. Clark
State University of New York at Albany
1981Sigmund Tobias
City University of New York

© 2020 Northeastern Educational Research Association, Inc. All Rights Reserved